30-Day License Suspension Rule in Georgia
Arrested for DUI? You Only Have 30 Calendar Days to Save Your License!
If you have been arrested on suspicion of DUI, need to be fully aware of
what the 30-day rule could hold for you. Under this law, you could
lose your driver's license for one full year unless you request an administrative license suspension
(ALS) hearing within 30 calendar days. How can you know if you need to
request this hearing with the Department of Driver Services? At the time
of your drunk driving arrest, you would have handed your license over
to the officer and been given Form 1205, a yellow piece of paper that
reads "Georgia Department of Driver Services" at the top.
This form serves as your temporary license, and
you will only have 30 calendar days to save your confiscated license.
If you refused a blood, breath, or urine test, you will have been given
this temporary license. The same is true if you attempted these DUI tests,
but were mistakenly reported as refusing these tests. You have 30 calendar
days from the arrest to
request a hearing at the Department of Driver Services (DDS). If you fail do to so, you
will automatically lose your license, even before you present your defense
in court, and even if you are acquitted of your charges in the end. If
you take advantage of your right to request a DDS hearing, however, you
may be able to defend your driving privileges.
After a DUI arrest in Georgia, you could lose your license for:
One year for the first
- Three years for the second DUI arrest
- Five years for a third accusation
Let Willis Law Firm Fight to Restore Your Driving Privileges
If any of the above scenarios are part of your case, or if you are unsure
if your license is at risk, don't wait to
call Willis Law Firm. An Atlanta DUI attorney is allowed to represent you at this hearing.
Even more importantly, this would give you and your legal counsel the
invaluable opportunity to see the details of the evidence being used against
you. Speaking with an attorney at this time is vital in preparation of
your DUI case. A skilled DUI attorney may be able to show that the police
stop or DUI arrest was invalid, and that your license should not be suspended
At Willis Law Firm, you will find an attorney who has been:
- Board-certified in DUI defense
- Certified in NHTSA standardized field sobriety tests
Named to the Georgia
Super Lawyers® list
- Given a 10.0 “Superb” rating on Avvo
In all, this Atlanta DUI firm provides more than 20 years of experience.
You can rely on this team to handle your administrative and criminal trial
hearings. They have successfully represented thousands of clients, and
they have the
track record to prove it. Don't wait to call the firm today!
Call an Atlanta DUI lawyer at Willis Law Firm today to get the skilled help
you deserve for your ALS hearing.