Second DUI Penalties in Georgia
Counsel from a Trusted Atlanta DUI Defense Attorney
The State of Georgia takes repeat
DUI offenses very seriously and outlines very severe penalties for those convicted.
If you are convicted of a second DUI offense, the state believes you have
demonstrated that you prone to making reckless decisions and are probably
in need of substance abuse counseling. It takes assertive and knowledgeable
counsel to counter this perspective and ensure that your circumstances
are carefully considered by the court.
Thomas & Willis, LLC, our entire, award-winning firm focuses solely on providing the highest
quality DUI defense service to the Atlanta community. We know what's
on the line for our second DUI offense clients and how to best dispute
the evidence put forth by the prosecution. Do not wait to begin your defense—call
us today to
free case evaluation
to get started.
Second DUI Penalties
DUI penalties in Georgia significantly increase between a first and second
offense. Not only are many of these penalties meant to punish the accused,
but also deter them from further repeat offenses.
Penalties for a second DUI offense can include:
- Up to one year in jail (72 hours are mandatory)
- Up to $1000 in fines
- Three year's license suspension
- One year of probation (minus any time served)
- Ignition interlock device installation (following suspension)
- Court-ordered DUI/substance abuse programs (“DUI school”)
- 30 days of community service
Other penalties may apply. It should be noted that many of these penalties,
such as the ignition interlock device and substance abuse programs, are
an out-of-pocket expense for the convicted driver. Court costs may also apply.
What is a "look back" period?
Georgia does have a "look back" law, which means that for a prior
DUI to be counted against you, it must occur within a certain period of
time. Prior to 2008, the look back period was only five years, but that
has been changed to ten years.
So, for instance, let's say that driver A has been arrested for his
second DUI charge in 2015. His first DUI charge however, took place in
2003. Because 2003 was over ten years ago, it is not counted as a "first
charge," and his 2015 offense will be treated as a first offense.
The Time to Act is Now!
Those charged with a second DUI offense—just like those charged with
only have 30 calendar days to request their ALS hearing and avoid the
automatic suspension of your driver's license. An experienced and proven Atlanta DUI defense
is ready to stand with you during this hearing, speak on your behalf,
and get your DUI defense started immediately.
You don't have to face this troubling time alone. Get the representation
and advocacy you need and
call Thomas & Willis, LLC today!