First DUI Penalties in Georgia
Call the Trusted Atlanta DUI Defense Attorney You Need
For many, those faced with their first DUI offense are also dealing with
their very first criminal charge. It can be a frightening experience full
of many uncertainties. Even worse, Georgia law outlines numerous penalties
for a first-time offense that can turn any driver's life upside down
just because of one, isolated mistake.
That is why it is absolutely essential that you contact an Atlanta
DUI defense lawyer as soon as you have been charged. There both administrative
and criminal consequences to consider and contend with following a DUI
offense and knowledgeable counsel will be able to help put them behind
you as swiftly as possible. At
Thomas & Willis, LLC, our legal team has more than 100 years of combined experience in providing
Atlanta DUI clients exactly this kind of service.
If you have been charged, call our firm today. We are ready to offer you a
free case evaluation to explore your legal options.
Your ALS Hearing
Following your DUI arrest, you have only 30 calendar days to request an
Administrative License Suspension hearing, or an ALS hearing. If you do
not request and attend this hearing,
your license is automatically suspended for 120 days. You will also be subject of a $210 fine and be compelled to attend a
drug and alcohol abuse class. If you are under 21, your administrative
license suspension may last six months or—in cases where there was
a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of over .08—a full year.
However, it may be possible to not only avoid these penalties, but to also
reinstate your license. With representation from a lawyer who can emphatically
put forth any relevant information that proves you should continue to
be able to drive, you may retain some driving privileges. Your prior driving
record, transportation needs, and the circumstances of your DUI arrest
may all be part of a convincing argument to avoid a suspension.
Criminal Penalties for a First DUI
If a conviction is reached, criminal penalties for the first time DUI are
described in the OCGA 40-6-391. They can include:
- Up to $1000 in fines
- Up to 12 months in jail
- One year’s license suspension
- 40 hours of community service
- Completion of drug and alcohol abuse class (“DUI school”)
It should be noted that jail time is not a frequent part of these first
time offense penalties. Instead of jail, a judge will often sentence the
convicted to one year of probation. Aggravating factors, like the injury
of an individual or the presence of a minor, may increase these penalties.
For more specific information about what consequences you could be facing
for your first time DUI offense, we invite you to contact our firm today.
Our award-winning team of DUI attorneys is ready to assess your case and
determine effective options in securing the best possible outcome on your behalf.
Call us at Thomas & Willis, LLC today.