It is illegal in Georgia for anyone under the age of 21 to possess or consume
alcoholic beverages. Anyone under the legal age caught with alcohol can
be charged with a minor in possession (MIP), which is a criminal charge
that carries serious consequences. Should the minor be found driving when
under the influence of alcohol, they can be charged with
underage DUI, carrying even more severe penalties.
There are instances where a minor in Georgia is legally allowed to consume
alcohol, such as involvement in religious services, for medicinal purposes,
and if their parent or guardian allows the minor to consume alcohol in
their own home. Once the minor gets behind the wheel of a car, however,
these permissions no longer matter.
Zero Tolerance Law in Georgia
Georgia has a Zero Tolerance law for minors driving under the influence.
This law means that a minor does not need to reach the legal BAC of .08
to be considered intoxicated, but can be deemed to be too impaired to
drive if their BAC is higher than .02.
A first underage DUI conviction can carry:
- 10 days to 1 year in jail
- $300 to $1,000 in fines
- 6 month driver's license suspension
- 20 hours of community service
- $210 fee to reinstate a driver's license
An underage driver that is convicted of
multiple DUIs will face longer jail and suspension times, higher fines, more hours
of community service, and will likely have to complete an alcohol program
and install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
Underage drivers in Georgia that are convicted and have their license suspended
are not able to recieve a limited driving permit. Those that rely on their
car for school, work, or in the event of medical emergencies will have
to use another form of transportation to get to their obligations.
With the severe consequences that can come with
DUI charges, it is important that a DUI attorney is there to guide an underage
driver through their court case. If you have been accused of DUI as a
minor, our firm offers a free consultation to learn about how our services
can benefit your court case.
With over 230 years of combined experience, your case is in good hands
with the Willis Law Firm
. Call today to get started.